Skip to main content

Manage team settings

In this section:

After creating a team, you can edit its default settings, such as the team type, scheduling options, and related teams.

Important

Schedulers can only edit settings for teams that they lead, while people and plans editors and administrators can edit settings for any team.

Open a team's settings page

To open a team's settings page:

  1. Select the People page from the top navigation in Services.

  2. Select the Teams tab to view a list of teams in your organization.

  3. Use the dropdown in the top left to filter the list by My Teams (teams where you're a leader or member), All Teams, Archived Teams, or specific service types.

  4. Select a team name to open that team's member list. You can also search for a specific team using the search bar at the top.

  5. Select the Settings tab to open that team's settings page.

Check out the sections below to learn more about what each setting affects.

Type

Change your team's type(s) to determine which files members can access, how members are assigned, and who can be scheduled based on background check settings.

Check the boxes to set up your team as one or more of the following types:

  • Rehearsal teams allow you to have a team with people who all have access to item files, the media player, and songbooks in a plan that they are scheduled to. Assign teams as rehearsal teams if they need to access song and media files from a plan.

  • Secure teams allow anyone to be on a team, but only those who have passed a background check can be scheduled to a plan. For example, if you only want people who have passed background checks to serve in children's ministry, you can create a secure team for that ministry.

  • Split teams allow one team to have people who can serve at different times. For example, if you have multiple service times and one team of ushers, you can create a split team to assign each usher to only one of the service times per week.

  • Tag teams are a type of team whose members aren't manually assigned. This team type is useful when you have multiple teams or positions with the same members. For example, if you have identified individuals who can be part of your choir, you can assign each person a choir or part tag. Then, when you want to create the team, search for the tag to find the people to assign.

Service types

Assign your team to all the service types where it needs to be scheduled. For example, if everyone on the worship team can be scheduled for the Contemporary Service and the Traditional Service, assign your team to both service types.

Tip

If you have duplicate teams set up for two different service types, consider merging them into one team that's assigned to both service types.

Manage a team's assigned service types

You can assign a team to multiple service types or no service type at all, if it doesn't need to be scheduled.

  1. Go to your team's settings page.

  2. Scroll down to the Service Types section.

  3. Choose which service types this team should be scheduled in:

    • To assign your team to a service type: Select Add Service Type to view a list of all service types in your organization. Choose a service type from the list to assign your team to that service type.

    • To remove your team from a service type: Hover over the service type name and select the red ⊖ minus icon that appears.

      Important

      You can only remove service types where this team isn't currently scheduled.

  4. (Optional) To view or edit an assigned service type's time preferences, hover over the service type name and select the Times button that appears.

Scheduling defaults

Choose the default scheduling status, prepared notification setting, and replies to person for this team.

  • Status: Choose whether your team members should have an Unconfirmed or Confirmed status when they're added to a plan or template. If you choose Confirmed, the "Accept" and "Decline" buttons won't appear in scheduling and reminder emails for that team.

    Important

    Team members can still change their response to "Declined" even if the team's default status is set to "Confirmed."

  • Notification: Choose whether to give your team members a prepared notification status by default whenever they're scheduled. This prevents team members from seeing the plan until you send the scheduling email.

    Uncheck Prepared if you want all team members to see that they are scheduled for a plan without sending a scheduling email.

  • Replies to: Choose who should receive scheduling request notifications for this team. The "replies to" person will be listed as the sender for any scheduling requests and reminder emails that are sent to the team. See Assign response notifications to learn more.

Scheduling gap alerts

Set up scheduling gap alerts to help your team leaders ensure they have enough volunteers for a service. Select the Enable alerts for this team toggle to automatically notify your team leaders whenever positions are still unfilled or unconfirmed.

You can choose to send the alert up to seven days before a plan. Scheduling gap emails are sent on the chosen day at 1 p.m. in your campus's time zone.

When team leaders receive a scheduling gap email, they'll see the following:

  • The total number of gaps (needed positions or unconfirmed team members) for each team they lead.

  • A list of needed positions that need to be filled.

  • A list of unconfirmed team members and the positions for which they've been requested.

  • An ✉️ email icon in the top right of each team. Select the ✉️ email icon to manually resend scheduling requests to unconfirmed team members.

Rescheduling declines

If a volunteer declines a request, you have several automatic rescheduling options. Choose the default option for this team:

  • Do not reschedule: If someone declines a request, no needed position will be created. Choose this option if the position is optional and doesn't need to be replaced.

  • Manually reschedule: Create a needed position whenever someone declines a request. Choose this option for teams with specific skills, like a band, where a team leader must control who is rescheduled. 

  • Volunteer Replacement: Allow volunteers to choose their replacement from a list of available team members assigned to their position when declining.

    Volunteers must confirm that their replacement can cover the request before submitting their response. Once the volunteer submits their response, the replacement is automatically confirmed for the plan and team leaders are notified.

    If no volunteer replacements are available due to scheduling conflicts, a needed position is created after the team member declines the request.

  • Auto-schedule: The auto-scheduler will send a scheduling request to the next best person, based on their last scheduled plan and availability. The replies to person for this team will receive an email every time a new request is sent, so you can stay informed while the auto-scheduler works its magic.

    Check out the Auto-schedule your team article to learn more about how the auto-schedule feature works.

  • Signup sheets: Choose this option to enable signup sheets for this team on this plan only. When this feature is enabled and a team member declines a request, a signup sheet email goes out to all other team members who can fill that position, allowing them to schedule themselves.

    Important

    When this setting is enabled, signup sheets for the entire team will be enabled when someone declines a request.

    If you have other unfilled positions on this team, people assigned to those positions can schedule themselves if they look for the signup sheet on their My Schedule page. However, only those who share a position with the declined team member receive a signup sheet email.

Options

Any options that you set here will apply to the whole team:

  • Last Scheduled Date: Set the default Last Scheduled Date option you'd like to use for this team when auto-scheduling. You can also set the Last Scheduled Default setting for all teams in a service type from the service type's Teams tab.

  • Access for Scheduled Viewers: Choose whether scheduled viewers can access the full plan (including the service order) or only view scheduled teams.

    • Full Plan access is required for scheduled viewers to see plan files.

    • If the team is a rehearsal team, this will be set to Full Plan, and you won't be able to change it.

    • If you select My Schedule Only, scheduled viewers can see the dates when they're scheduled, but they can't open the plan page.

  • Signup Sheets: If you want people on this team to sign themselves up for positions but don't want to manually enable signup sheets for every plan, check the Signup Sheets box to enable it by default for this team.