Add resources
Add resources so you can share files or links with your group, such as meeting guides or short videos! You can create a resource for a single group or add a shared resource for all groups within a group type.
Choose whether to make your resources accessible only to leaders or to all members. If you create a resource for all members, they'll be notified in Church Center.
Important
This article explains how administrators and group type managers can create and manage resources in Groups. Group leaders can manage resources in Church Center.
Supported file types and sizes
The types of files that you can add to a group include:
Documents like PDFs, Microsoft Word files, and text files.
Media like small audio, video, or image files.
The maximum allowed file size is 50MB. For larger files, upload the file to a separate hosting platform and create a private link to the file that you can share from the Resources page.
You can host larger media files on a service like Dropbox, Google Drive, or Amazon S3.
Large video files can be posted on a video platform like YouTube or Vimeo.
Add a resource to a group
Select the Groups page from the top navigation in Groups.
Select a group from the list to open the individual group page.
Select Resources from the left sidebar.
Select Add a group resource in the top right or in the middle of the page (if this is your first resource).
Choose between File Upload or URL Link at the top of the popup.
Upload your file or enter your URL in the corresponding field:
File: Select Choose File to browse your computer and add an existing file.
Link: Enter a URL to link to a website.
Enter your resource's details:
Name: Enter a name to display on the resource list. The actual file name or URL will not be visible there.
Description: Enter the purpose of the resource or when to use it.
Access: Choose whether to give access to leaders only or all members.
(Optional) Check Pin this resource to move this resource to the top of the group's resource list.
Select Upload group resource to finish adding your resource.
All resources will be listed on your group's Resources tab with labels showing who can access them.
Edit a resource
Administrators can edit any resources, but group leaders can only edit resources they have personally added.
Select the Groups page from the top navigation in Groups.
Select a group from the list to open the individual group page.
Select Resources from the left sidebar to open the resource list.
Scroll down to the resource you want to edit.
Select Edit to the right of the resource, or select Edit shared if the resource is shared with other groups.
If you're editing a shared resource, select Yes, continue in the confirmation popup to go to the shared resource page. Skip to step 6 of the Edit shared resources section to finish the process.
Update the resource's details in the popup.
File/Link: Select Choose File to upload a new file, or replace the URL in the Link field.
Name: Enter a name to display on the resource list. The actual file name or URL will not be visible there.
Description: Enter the purpose of the resource or when to use it.
Which group should have access? Choose a new group from the dropdown to move this resource to that group's resource page.
Access: Choose whether to give access to leaders only or all members.
(Optional) Use the Pin this resource checkbox to pin or unpin the resource from this group's resource list.
Select Upload group resource to save your changes.
Delete a resource
Administrators can delete any resources, but group leaders can only delete resources they have personally added. You can choose to delete a single resource or multiple resources at once.
Warning
Deleting a resource cannot be undone.
Select the Groups page from the top navigation in Groups.
Select a group from the list to open the individual group page.
Select Resources from the left sidebar to open the resource list.
Check the boxes next to the resources you want to delete.
Important
Shared resources will not be included in the deletion process. You can only delete shared resources from the shared resource page.
Select 🗑️ Delete [number] resource(s) at the top of the list.
Type "Delete this resource" in the popup to confirm that you'd like to permanently delete the selected resources.
Select Yes, delete it to permanently delete this resource.